Signup Now
Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 137
  1. #1
    Administrator Lucas Terra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,202
    Reputation
    141
    Rep Power
    10

    Navigation Server (v1.0.1)

    Hello guys,

    Today we are releasing the binaries for you to host your own Navigation Server.

    Windows Version (32 bits): NavServ 1.0.1 for Windows (32 bits)
    Ubuntu Version (64 bits): NavServ 1.0.1 for Ubuntu (64 bits)

    Server Options:
    chatRoomMaxUsers: max amount of users a chat room can have
    navRoomMaxUsers max amount of users a navigation room can have
    friendUpdateInterval: interval in milliseconds to update friends' data (mp, position, etc)
    enemyUpdateInterval: interval in milliseconds to update enemies' data
    usersCanCreateRoom: whether users can create rooms or not
    roomIdleTime: how long to wait (in seconds) before putting a room to sleep
    serverPort: which port to bind your server to (the actual value can be different if have UPnP enabled)
    useUPnP: whether to use UPnP or not. UPnP will try to automatically port forward your router for incoming connections
    serverName: server name to show at the root of the nav GUI
    adminPassword: a password to run admin commands (kick, ban, etc.)
    serverPassword: a password to use when joining the server
    rooms: rooms started when initializing the server

    Room Options:
    type: chat or navigation room
    name: room name
    password: room password
    leaderPassword: room leader's password
    maxUsers: maximum users that can join the room
    loadAtStartup: whether to load this room at startup or not
    neverSleeps: whether this room should sleep or not


    Change Log:
    1.0.1
    • Fixed a crash when deleting dormant nav rooms, which was making it impossible to start the server up.

  2. #2
    Administrator Lucas Terra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,202
    Reputation
    141
    Rep Power
    10
    Windows Instructions (this only works on Windows Vista or higher, 32 bits or 64 bits):
    1. Install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015 Important: Make sure you install the package named vc_redist.x86.exe. The other one is 64-bit and you'll get an error on startup.
    2. Choose your settings in 'navserv.json'
    3. Start the server
    4. Windows Firewall will ask for permission to run the server, allow it to run

    PS.: With UPnP enabled it might take up to 10 seconds to boot up, because it will try to do port forwarding for you. If you know how to setup your router you can port forward manually and disable UPnP for faster startup..

    Troubleshooting
    Server crashes are usually caused by one of the following:
    • Not having the pre-requesite installed (see step 1 above)
    • The port you specified being in use by another application


    Before posting to ask help, please ensure that you have tried with UPnP set to "true" and "false", and that you have installed the Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015 (32 bits) above. Also ensure that you have tried a port which is free, you can check this with the command netstat -an - confirm that the port you are trying to use does not exist in the list, you can use grep or just copy the output into notepad and search.

    Failure to create channels, users, etc are usually caused by:
    • Permissions insufficient to edit file
    • Running the navigation server from an unsafe directory


    Before posting to ask for help, try running the server from your user directory (Documents, Downloads, Desktop should all work on Windows). You should also attempt to run as administrator.
    Last edited by Josh; 08-27-2016 at 12:25 AM.

  3. #3
    Administrator Lucas Terra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,202
    Reputation
    141
    Rep Power
    10
    Ubuntu Instructions (currently only works on Ubuntu 64 bits)
    1. Extract the zip file
    2. Change the permissions to readable / executable (see below)
    3. Choose your settings in 'navserv.json'
    4. Start your server (see below)
    5. You might need to setup your firewall to allow it run. Follow this cool tutorial by DigitalOcean

    Code:
    chmod 0500 navserv
    ./navserv
    Auto-Start on Boot (thanks to @XtrmJosh)
    1. Create an init script (you can use vi, vim, nano, or whatever editor you like)
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/init/navserver.conf
    2. Insert this, changing '/home/user/navservdir' to the path where you extracted the navigation binaries:
    Code:
    #Nav server service
    description "WindBot Navigation Server"
    author "Josh Griffith <[email protected]>"
    
    #Stanzas
    start on runlevel [2345]
    stop on runlevel; [016]
    respawn
    chdir /home/user/navservdir
    exec /home/user/navservdir/navserv


    Troubleshooting
    Server crashes are usually caused by one of the following:
    • The port you specified being in use by another application


    Before posting to ask help, please ensure that you have tried with UPnP set to "true" and "false". Also ensure that you have tried a port which is free, you can check this with the command netstat -an - confirm that the port you are trying to use does not exist in the list, you can use grep like so netstat -an | grep 1234, replacing 1234 with the port you wish to check, if it shows up, it's in use.

    Failure to create channels, users, etc are usually caused by:
    • Permissions insufficient to edit file
    • Running the navigation server from an unsafe directory


    Before posting to ask for help, try running the server from any directory under /home/user. You should also attempt to run as with sudo.
    Last edited by Josh; 06-07-2016 at 12:38 PM.

  4. #4
    Administrator Lucas Terra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,202
    Reputation
    141
    Rep Power
    10
    reserved for client connection instructions

  5. #5
    Free User
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    20
    Reputation
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    wont work on 64 bits window? or i am wrong?

  6. #6
    Moderator SuNe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,881
    Reputation
    186
    Rep Power
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Xantiv View Post
    wont work on 64 bits window? or i am wrong?
    It does, but in a 32bit mode.
    กิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิก ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิ ิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิิกิิิิิิิิิิิิ ิิิิิิิิ

  7. #7
    Free User
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    20
    Reputation
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    got the server upp and running, but cant find a way to connect to it, any ideas?

  8. #8
    Free User glowingstick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    335
    Reputation
    36
    Rep Power
    21
    Sweet

  9. #9
    Administrator Lucas Terra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,202
    Reputation
    141
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Xantiv View Post
    got the server upp and running, but cant find a way to connect to it, any ideas?
    You need to type your own IP to connect to it in WindBot. You can use localhost if you're hosting it only for yourself.

  10. #10
    Free User
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    16
    Reputation
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    i think my vps is windows xp its not work in that OS right?
    Last edited by Ramoncito; 06-06-2016 at 07:18 PM.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •